Review: Flight of the Raven by Morgan L. Busse - Book Tour & Giveaway

On Tour with Prism Book Tours

Bookworm Banquet is happy to be participating in the book tour for Morgan L. Busse's newest release, Flight of the Raven. Below you will find information on where to find this book, a story synopsis and publication info, author's bio, tour stops, giveaway details, and finally, our rating and review. Thanks for stopping by! And if this is your first visit to the Bookworm Banquet, don't let it be your last!

Flight of the Raven
(The Ravenwood Saga #2)
By Morgan L. Busse
Christian Fantasy
Paperback & ebook, 352 Pages
April 30th, 2019 by Bethany House Publishers

Selene Ravenwood, once the heir to House Ravenwood, is now an exile. On the run and free of her family's destiny, Selene hopes to find the real reason her family was given the gift of dreamwalking. But first she must adapt to her new life as wife to Lord Damien Maris, the man she was originally assigned to kill. 

While adjusting to her marriage and her home in the north, her power over dreams begins to grow. As the strongest dreamwalker to exist in ages, her expanding power attracts not only nightmares but the attention of the Dark Lady herself.

With a war looming on the horizon and a wicked being after her gift, Selene is faced with a choice: embrace the Dark Lady's offer, or search out the one who gave her the gift of dreamwalking. One path offers power, the other offers freedom. But time is running out, and soon her choice will be made for her.

See our review at the bottom of this post.

About the Author

Morgan L. Busse is a writer by day and a mother by night. She is the author of the Follower of the Word series and the steampunk series The Soul Chronicles. She is a Christy and INSPY Award finalist and won the Carol Award in 2018 for best in Christian speculative fiction. During her spare time she enjoys playing games, taking long walks, and dreaming about her next novel.

Tour Schedule

Tour Giveaway

1 winner will receive print copies of Mark of the Raven, Flight of the Raven, and a $20 Amazon gift card
2 winner winners will receive print copies of Mark of the Raven and Flight of the Raven
- US only
- Ends June 7, 2019

Grab Our Button!

JD's Review

Flight of the Raven by Morgan L. Busse
JD's Rating: 4 out of 5 bookmarks

Editor's Note: Flight of the Raven continues the fantasy series, The Ravenwood Saga, that began with Mark of the Raven. If you have not read Book 1, be aware that this review may spoil some plot points from that book.

Flight of the Raven picks up right where the previous book left off without much passage of time; a few hours at most. Selene and Damien's relationship with one another plays a huge part in the arc of this book so there is obviously a larger romantic element here than in the previous book. And while this book felt much more slow-moving than Mark there were still some developments in the story that advance the plot.

In this book, Selene is really on a journey to discover just who she is. She wants to learn as much as she possibly can about the history of House Ravenwood and their gifting and use that information to inform her current situation and position in the realm. She's also digging down deep inside of herself and grappling with her feelings, emotions, and confusion about the things she's been brought up to believe. Selene is a very rich character and it was interesting to get to know her further in this book. It's a good thing that she is such a great character since the majority of the book is dealing with her and her internal struggles regarding her marriage to Damien, how she should feel about the Light (the deity of the Old Ways whom her husband and his people worship), and even the smaller issues like fitting into daily life at Northwind Castle.

Lord Damien is the perfect gentleman character. Though he does make a few blunders on occasion, for the most part, he is the quintessence of refinement and poise. You might even criticize him for being too perfect, though he felt genuine enough to me to not find him to be flawless to the point of annoyance. His earnest care and concern for his people was a great quality that he showed from the moment we're introduced to him in Book 1. He's a truly just and honest leader.

Sprinkled throughout the first three-quarters of the book are some tidbits of backstory on Damien, some history of the giftings, and other information which helps to flesh out the story world even more and make it that much richer and vivid. But the action doesn't really get going until much later. After all the character development that takes up the majority of the book, there is some action at last near the final quarter of the book.

In summation, this is a highly character-driven book with lots of time spent getting to know the major players from Book 1 on a much deeper level. And we learn more about the story world and its history and lore. This all builds up to the few bits of action we get near the end and sets up things for a much quicker-paced, action-filled adventure in the next volume. So let's hope Busse keeps the momentum going that was built up in the final chapters and carries it over to Book 3.

Content Advisory
Mentions of marital infidelity (though not graphic), multiple murders, typical war-related violence that you'd expect from a fantasy story with kingdom rivalries. There are also allusions and references to intimacy in marriage though nothing is described or explicitly stated beyond a few kisses. Would recommend for male and female readers ages 18 and up.

J.D. Sutter is the producer and host of the Bookworm Banquet podcast and editor of the blog. He is the founder of Porchlight Family Media, a network of quality audio programming and review blogs based in Phoenix, AZ.

Disclosure: The publisher provided us with a free copy of this book for promotional purposes. This post contains affiliate links.

J.D. Sutter

No comments:

Post a Comment